Foundation Stage

The EYFS covers children from birth to aged five years. At West Lodge, this applies to our Nursery and Reception classes.

At West Lodge, we understand that young children learn best when they are actively engaged in the world around them; through meaningful and relevant learning experiences. We plan activities based around children’s interests, learning needs and next steps. Precise, frequent assessment of each child ensures that we continue to provide suitably challenging activities, with clear progression. Both classes benefit from a mix of child-initiated and adult-led learning; both indoors and in our outside classroom. This learning is then captured through our online learning journeys, 2BuildaProfile, as well as in workbooks for Reception children.

The Early Years' Foundation Stage curriculum provides a balanced, educational programme across seven areas of learning. These are identified as:

Prime Areas

  • · Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • · Communication & Language
  • · Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • · Literacy
  • · Mathematics
  • · Understanding the World
  • · Expressive Arts and Design

Our partnership with parents and carers is very important to us. We believe that when parents and carers work together to support a child's education, this has a positive and lasting effect on children's individual achievements. At West Lodge, we provide many opportunities to share learning with parents over the year.

Mrs Collins - Head of EYFS